2004-03-24 - 12:05 a.m.

Last night was a huge bummer. I met the Roommate after work at Lechmere, where we talked about whether or not the 69 bus was running late or if we had missed it, as it boarded and departed right in front of us.

When we got to the Abbey, we learned the show we wanted to see was sold out, which was doubly frustrating because the Roomate had been laughed out of that place on numerous occasions for asking if tickets for shows were available ahead of time (oh they never sell out, sweetheart). I had been looking forward to that show for so long too--five Japanese girl bands. Who can say no to that?

So we headed down to Bukowski�s--home of the insane markup on fancy beer--and ordered two Pabsts--the Roommate�s tasted like Pabst. Mine tasted like copper--I think it was the glass. We paid up and got the hell out of there.

And got a cab home, but the guy didn�t know how to get from Cambridge to Somerville so we had to give him directions, which was awkward.

I left work tonight and got all the way to Downtown Crossing when I realized that it was probably a good idea to head back to work to check on something annoying that would take way too long to explain here.

Needless to say, I missed my connecting bus home by one minute, so I dug in at Davis for yet another half hour wait--at least it was kind of warm and even a little Springy out. And then a ploop, and another ploop, and I looked up and saw two more fluffy snowflakes.

And then some more, and then it just got lovely out--it�s very rare that I�m actually outside when snow starts to fall, and I love snow at Davis and watching it through the streetlights.

The snow was the fluffiest I�ve ever seen--like in cartoon Christmas specials, and each flake was about an inch in diameter, some as much as two, and it was so light that it fell in almost in slow motion, blowing around in the wind more than falling, like it must look from the inside of a snow globe.

I waited �till nobody was looking and I caught a flake on my tongue and then another one--their size and the fact they fell so slowly made them easy to track--and I then realized that I hadn�t done that all winter.

If I had made my bus, I would have missed this--the flurries were over by the time the next one came.


Listening to: Kustomized
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie