2004-03-29 - 1:57 a.m.

It was a Randy Research weekend. I�ve been looking forward to one of these for months and months and once I knew I was getting one, all plans were put on hold for it.

Bettie Serveert somehow degenerated into a Dutch version of Phish, and over a year, mind you, and how could you see that coming? So that�s how it began.

Work was slow and I wanted to leave things open, so I took Friday off. Good use of a day off. I finally recorded a really good song semi-perfectly (in that it�s not the ultimate version of the song, but it�s a permanent version of the song).

Saturday the Roommate and Julianne and I walked from Somerville to pain-in-the-ass-to-get-to J.P., the Somerville of the south, where I was born, my birthright, and we got blown away by the theatrical stylings of a one Marty Allen, and then some more reveling afterward.

The event was held in the basement of a J.P. triple decker on Green St., and the building seemed to be owned by the tenants, or it was passed down from generation to generation, or something. It�s something I�ve wanted in on for years, and that (don�t worry) I�ve accepted is something that is too late for me to have--at least that version, but there�s no rule against going there and checking out how their version is run.

If you have no idea what I�m talking about, then what I just said makes no sense, and if you do, you�ve either done it or are doing it, or you missed out on it like me.

Either way, it�s just a side quest. In the longer run, it would have been cooler had you been there, but it�s not like it�s the end of the world if you weren�t cool enough at the moment.

The best part was bumping into one of my really cool co-workers, and I�m his boss and much older than him (and of course I�d run into him far more often if he lived in Somerville), and he was shocked to see me at a Saturday night Green St. party art house, and when he saw me he said no way.

Today I just kind of chilled out with the Roommate as we took our turns alternating at getting the place ready or playing Final Fantasy VII, and then we had a meeting for an arts thingie for Somerville at our place.

That was odd, and I was nervous for it, but I did a good job, which means more work, so I probably should have kept my mouth even more shut, but whatever, I�m gonna do more writing for these people, and I�m scared shitless, but I�ll do it better than anyone could ever dream.

And the best part of it all was getting to hang out with Randy Research.

After Bettie and beers were being dranken, I mean, I have no idea what I said, but I do know it meant something. I�m sure he gets gushes like this all the time, but I don�t care. I love talking to that guy.

The Roommate and I left the performance space/some dude�s basement abruptly, and I cornered the poor bastard and made him hug me not once, but twice.

In deference to this great person, I�m gonnna write a new diary thing and just say ploab.


Listening to: Me--how vain
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie