2004-04-21 - 2:47 a.m.

Around 1:30 tonight I heard a sound out my window that kind of resembled a motorcycle with a bad muffler. (Do motorcycles have mufflers? Well if they do, what I heard sounded like that, if a motorcycle with a bad muffler does indeed sound like that.)

Two guys were spray painting a new crosswalk over the old one--one guy had a machine that looked like Professor Frink went to town with a lawnmower, and the other one laid sand from a bucket over the new paint.

They were talking like it was daytime and they were in a crowd.

And it's not like they're sending pedestrains diagonally across the street, or in circles, but I believe they did the sloppiest job they possibly could have done.

I mean, I see divider lines and crosswalks, and it doesn't usually occur to me to check for accuracy, or wonder how they got there, but it does occasionally.

And I've always noticed how neat the lines are, wondering exactly how it's done.

I saw it done tonight, and I'm still wondering how it's done.


Listening to: the Pills
Reading: Red Ant House by Ann Cummins
Background: 3am traffic and a car alarm
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie