2004-06-07 - 10:35 a.m.

On Saturday the Roommate met me at work and we rushed down to the Gallway house for Buds and sausage and pepper sandwiches, which we ate as quickly as possible, en route to the Footlight Club to see Julianne in Inherit the Wind. She was really good at acting outraged, extremely good at acting confused, and outstanding at acting both confused and outraged. And that fried chicken line--she really sold it.

The Footlight is in the neighborhood where I grew up--I literally lived next to it when I was a kid--so it was definitely interesting to see a play there, and thank you for your generous contribution to the neighborhood, McIntyre family.

After the play and a couple more Buds at the Gallway, we took the 39 to Copley and walked down Boylston past all the stupid trendy bars and even visited one--where the Sam Adams bar used to be. $4.00 Buds. Four American dollars. Who are these people? The place was packed with drunk people with careers.

On Sunday, the Roommate and I decided to forego Heavy Stud and the Charms at Trum Field. We had really wanted to go, but the weather was crappy and we figured we could probably come up with a better plan that didn�t involve hanging out with a bunch of crabby bikers on wet grass.

Goddamn weather. While I�ll admit that I do like it a bit on the murky side, actual rain tends to be quite the ruiner of plans. I think this was the fourth weekend in a row where not only was the weekend weather less than perfect in that it either rained or was supposed to rain, but all week leading up to the weekend, the forecast was for two sunny days in the mid 70s.

Things could almost always be worse, that�s true, but, well, I guess we had a good time anyway so nevermind--I�ll stop now.

So the Roommate and I went down the hill to the Basket to pick up some groceries--we had decided to make dinner and drinks. Potato salad--I came up with that one--but neither of us had ever made it. My cellphone and my Dad once again proved their usefulness at that point, and by the way, you put a green pepper in potato salad. Who knew?

By the time we got out of the Basket, I was ready to murder someone in cold blood, and if you�ve been to the Basket, you know what I�m talking about. Unfortunately, we had forgotten pineapple juice, so I got sent back in, but I did come out with the juice and two balsa airplanes, which the Roommate and I flew through the drizzle and against the backdrop of City Hall after we had gotten home.

We cooked and cleaned and I got to play bartender too. Check it out:

Pineapple Sunrise

1 1/2 oz. Tequila

1 1/2 oz. Pineapple juice

dash of Grenadine

1 1/2 tsp. lime juice

Shake & Strain.

I actually misread the directions and used equal parts tequila, pineapple juice, and lime juice (instead of just a little lime juice), but they were still delicious, and we had Julianne up for drinks and beer and potato salad, and turkey burgers with boursin, and then we watched Murder By Death which was nice and hokey.

At this very second, I�m doing my laundry and listening to the Cardigans and TMBG and Guided By Voices, which is all I really want to do all day today, but I gotta go to work for the billionth time, so there.


Listening to: Billy Bragg
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie