2004-06-19 - 2:28 a.m.

Tonight was (possibly) the last show ever for the Pills, but I've probably seen more Pills shows from start to finish than Sox games recently, so I offered yet another one up to the god of nothing happens for weeks and then two things happen on the same night, and sat home and watched the Sox and missed the Pills.

Either way, I�d be aware during the entire experience that I�d be saying no to something I wanted, but at least beers were cheaper with decision I made.

I can't say no to the Sox when I only get to see them on local TV on Fridays (I don't get cable) and they're playing on the West Coast, which translates into a 10:15 start time for the game, just when I get home from work.

I was really looking forward to this game, with a level of enthusiasm and hopefulness that kind of surprised me, so the game it was, and it turned out to be the right decision, and only because the Sox won.

I got the Roommate a trip to Northampton for Christmas, which at the time I thought was the perfect gift, and it just might be, but when it comes to perfection, I've come to realize something when it comes to trips.

Anything on the commuter rail is okay for a one night hotel stay, if you wanna get fancy. Take the rail whenever you're ready, stay overnight, carry around your stuff for a couple of hours and leave at your leisure.

Anything on Greyhound--you should have gone for two nights.

Trust me--I thought I had thought it out, but like the Bush administration, I hadn't really thought it out.

The Greyhound/Peter Pan schedule sucks for the price, and I almost rented a car so I could drive down there myself. And I haven't driven a car in maybe eight years. And I'm starting to regret not having rented a car.

But I'm always optimistic about things, and I think I've put a good spin on it.

I've always wanted to see Northampton. The Roommate has always wanted to go there--thus the present.

I get a weekend alone with the Roommate, and it's a reconnicence mission.

We're there to inspect the place--see what's there. I had the foresight to book a hotel room close to the bus station, close to where everything is. I�ve been assured as far away as months ago and as recently as ten minutes ago that it�s not going to be difficult to get from the bus station to the hotel.

And that's all anyone needs to get a good time started.

What's important, and what's delicious, is that neither of us have been there, and if we miss something, or nine things, or even if we just drink some beers in the closest bar from the hotel we can find and then take the bus back home, we're good.

If we can find just one den of iniquity, and I don't think that will be a challenge, it'll justify the hours together on a bus.

And when we return, we'll know what's going on where we left, and I'll be driving, maybe, next time.


Listening to:
Reading: A Model World by Michael Chabon
Background: M*A*S*H
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie