2004-09-23 - 2:56 a.m.

Choo-Choo-la-Rouge played in my living room.

Yes. This really happened--the performance was for a surprise party for the Roommate's birthday. It was the first party I've ever planned on my own, start to finish, it went better than I ever could have dreamed (and the Roommate really was surprised), everybody had a really good time, I know I came away from it amazed (yet again) by how many wonderful people I am fortunate enough to consider friends, equally amazed (yet again) by how sometimes the universe really comes together and rewards focused hard work with things going they way they are supposed to go, or close, and I was also, for the first time, amazed that I allowed that to happen (the whole universe thing) and at the same time, while in the process of letting these nice rewards happen, I did not do anything stupid.

I started writing this huge rambly entry about the party--there really were a ton of things that I do want to remember later, but parties aren't like that. Memory is until it breaks. Parties are �till the last person leaves. What happens happens, the events get diluted into a couple of moments, and I know I always remember parties I go to by one or two things that happened--let them stand for everything else and if years later I remember it differently, then that�s what happened.

So, despite the fact that only a substantial handful of forever scantified heroes attended the Roommate�s surprise party, I'm going to leave it at that, future ages be missing out or, better said, damned.


Listening to: Dionne Warwick
Reading: Independance Day by Richard Ford
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie