2004-10-15 - 2:32 a.m.

Love songs, or songs about love, or that pertain to love, or hint at it, or could be construed to be about it, comprise 99 percent of all good songs written (99 percent of the bad ones too, probably), and that�s only including the (a) portion of the venn diagram, leaving the middle bubble suspect as well.

Which presents way, way too many choices available when composing a wooing mix-CD, but which also renders any attempt at making a mix for a girl that�s just a friend near impossible.

Which sucks.

But that�s just me.

Anyone else could do this, but not me.

I�d be breaking thousands of cardinal rules if I went outside my music collection to make a CD for this person. It sucks because the stuff I listen to is so good, and I feel this person deserves a peek at it, but I listen so close when I compile, it�s easier to just set it aside and forget it.

If I made it, it�d take some compromising (of course, nobody would know), and I�d still be freaking out about it, including its presentation, where I�d probably have some lame speech prepared, that�d be ignored in favor of either listening to it later and enjoying it without any thought to what went into it, or playing it at the party, the worst case scenario but also likely enough one to convince me that the (really nice) gift I already bought is plenty enough.

CD can come later.

It really is too bad--like Kendall Square or some parts of the Financial District, it�s really hard for me to zero in with mixes, when usually it�s pretty easy.

I feel bad for the people that don�t get mixes from me, or botched ones, or who I have to turn down for driving directions (although can you, in your car, expect good driving directions from a pedestrian), and especially for those of you drivers that have been sent astray by me--although since there's a car involved and I'm not in it, I can only assume they got there, so that's what I assume.


Listening to: GBV
Reading: Ford
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie