2004-10-30 - 10:28 p.m.

The Red Sox rule and I love the Red Sox and so on, but I�ve had probably four days off during their stretch and I�m exhausted, and I had to wake up early yesterday to go on a company retreat in dedham and today to work eight hours, and I�m in the frame of mind where the funniest thing I�ve ever thought of in my life is this joke:

Q What do you call one clam?
A A clam.
Q What do you call a million clams?
A A lot of clams.
Q What do you call two million clams?
AToo many clams.
Q What do you call three million clams?
A Way too many clams.

Believe me, it�s funny on a hundred levels, none of which I can explain.

But I�m bushed, and I didn�t want to go out tonight, and I told that to the Roommate even though she was all dressed up. Hey--I didn�t know she was dressed up. I told her to meet me at work, but she didn�t want to--I would have gone out from that springboard, but once I got home I was home. I feel bad, though.

So I recorded a song, but it totally sucks, even though I pulled myself together and really did a good job. I did the vocals last (I did do a guide track, which I won�t use, and by �guide track� I mean me doing a half-assed job singing the whole song to make it easier to find the parts where I want to record instrument parts), and the vocals were way low.

And I sang the goddamn song five times, and did little takes twenty times.

Something got broken, and all I know is that it just happened and that I didn�t physically do anything to cause the brokeness.

It�s either my $400 microphone, my $250 preamp, the actual computer that I�ve been paying off for almost three years I think, or there�s a slight chance it�s all in my head, and I should go get a pack of cigarettes down the street either way.

All I know is that if it�s one of those three things, I�ll have no way of knowing which one, because I can�t just substitute another to find out.

There are maybe two or three people in this world who kind of resent the fact that I haven�t really recorded all that much, and that I am wasting my potential. Those people are right, but I don�t think they understand that the universe is against me in this case.

BUT. I got to watch the Sox win the World Series.


Listening to: My crappy song that I can't possibly fix
Reading:
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie