2004-11-14 - 2:18 a.m.

It snowed at Lechmere a few nights ago, but it was flurries and I don�t even think that anyone else noticed, even though they had nothing else to do but wait and notice things.

It snowed yesterday morning. Or, more truthfully, snow fell in the middle of the even I�m asleep part of Thursday night, and when I woke up, there was snow.

Snow.

There are people who love snow, mind you, and I�m part of that odd affiliation. But I don�t donate. (Drum roll.)

The Roommate and I walked around in what was left of it today and that was fun.

We got cheap, quick sushi at Porter, I said goodbye to my loaner pair of glasses in Harvard (and now I�m back to normal, less $200, just like normal), and then to Allston, to Guitar Center, for their HUGE SALE, that they sent me a postcard for. (I need a new acoustic, and I�ve had good luck there.)

That sale really sucked--for the most part, nothing was on sale except for stuff that nobody would ever buy and that I�m surprised was ever stocked. Who wants an ugly gray crappy $400 bass, but, more importantly, that was the third to next last time I ever go across the city because a postcard told me to.

In keeping with my history of finding the one thing in there that was meant for me, I bought a snare drum. It was meant for me. What can I say? I bought sticks too, and a stand for the snare. I don�t think I need the sticks. I think I can do everything I need with my fingers and the drum as long as I mic it well. Has anyone ever done this? Why has nobody ever done this? Was this a bad idea?

The cymbal. That�s why. Guitar Center was like Market Basket today and there was no getting access to anything I wanted to look at. Every corner turned, some ponytailed guy with nothing to do for the day �testing an amp.� It�d be easier to get a seat at the 1369 than to get at an instrument I was interested in.

But the drum section--I mean, there were idiots there, too, but most of the people there were crashing crashes, seriously trying to find the cymbal with the best sound. I mean, they were into it. I�ve never once made a bad assumption about drummers in general, and I�m glad now.

I have a lot to learn. But, at the same time, I�m almost there.

Time to learn Christmas songs and find a place in my room for my new finger snare.


Listening to: Sebadoh
Reading:
Background: This old house
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie