2004-11-18 - 1:32 a.m.

Sequence of events:

1) Didn't like unplugging this to plug in that because there aren't many outlets in my living room. Decided surge protector necessary.

2) Also didn't like the cord and wire spaghetti from several electrical appliances in living room.

3) Woke up early in order to purchase nice cardboard box in Central. I even asked for a tape measure, to make sure. Made sure subwoofer could stand on top of box, chose green over preferred red due to clearance issues. This kind of thing happens to me all the time, and I'm lucky if I'm happy 50-50 afterward.

4) Got home, cut holes in fancy box so that the wires could go in and out, felt adapter to subwoffer, realized that it's as hot as a 15 watt lightbulb.

5) Became concerned that an adapter generating the warmth of a 15 watt lightbulb would be contained in a pretty cardboard box.

6) Googled. Really, really googled. Spent a ton of time on fire safety sites.

7) Nothing I didn't already know.

8) Reminded myself about all those computers running windows 95 or 98 at work, where I sometimes have to type "win" to get Windows running, where I ask people to use sticky keyboards, 15 year old monitors, and computers where the cooling fans are obviously not working, and all of those old, loose power cords that people keep kicking; constantly having to restart computers and troubleshoot mules that should be shot dead, doing this every day, for years.

9) And I know I'm paranoid about stuff too. So I think I'm okay, but I just wish my dad had email. I just wish my dad could tell me if putting an adapter in a pretty cardboard box was a smart idea or a stupid one.

10) So here's the longshot idea. askdad.com Or mydad.com. Imagine a resource center where people who know how to ground wires and set up storm drains could help you out, and they're certified dads, to boot?

Out of curiosity, I typed in those addresses, and they were taken by people who had already snapped them up, and who wanted to sell them to me.

Despite curiosity, I didn't register and provide credit information, sorry. I really am curious as to how the domain market works. If I was at a supermodel party, and a supermodel decided to talk to me, I'd ask her.

11) It's okay if things don't always add up to ten.

10) So what I learned, when I should have been learning something else, or at least shopping for Christmas presents and not spending $10 on a box, and then cutting holes onto it, and then freaking out, is that askdad.com is a great idea an that I'd spend $0.99 an inquiry for the service and the reassurance that comes with it, so I'm just goint to pretend for the time being that my idea was pretty good until I call my actual dad tomorrow.

11) So there.

10) And so then I conclude this list, which I numbered for absolutely no reason.

11) Whatsoever.

10) The End.


Listening to: Daniel Johnston
Reading: 48 Shades of Brown by Nick Earls
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie