2004-12-29 - 12:57 a.m.

You know those Dunkie's commercials where people are running around ragged but then get to sit down for a second before they finish their tasks?

I never get that, but I'd like it. Blame it on the 1pm-9pm schedule, I do.

I took a rare vacation day today, to practice performing some more, because I'm performing soon, on New Year's Eve, and because I'm the kind of guy that does that, read into it what you will.

I'm also the kind of guy that does everything he can to look and sound good for shows.

So I bought a new acoustic pickup for my Guild, and then had the Yoda of guitars install it for me.

That is, drill a hole in a guitar that's as old as I am, to install a brewery fresh pickup in it.

So be it, and I wouldn't have let this happen if I didn't trust all people involved.

The Yoda of guitars kept calling me Bud, and had it ready in an hour and a half.

I don't have a car. This is not across the street from where I live. I had to carry my precious guitar blocks through the snow and on the bus.

That dunkie's commercial? I spent 50 minutes, on my day off, in Christopher's, nursing a Boddington's and reading the Globe.

I was very concerned for the people written about, but it was also the most relaxing 50 minutes I've spent in awhile.

And then I got my 27 year old guitar back, but now it's an acoustic-electric. If you want to know who this guitar Yoda, let me know.


Listening to: Jonathan Richman
Reading: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Background:
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie