2005-01-16 - 3:14 p.m.

I finished my new mix CD. I revisited my Sixty Songs Less Than Two Minutes In Length concept, and I must admit that I did a better job this time around. It's more honest, there's good songs scattered all throughout (and the great ones hit just when they're needed most), and it doesn't lag at the middle or at the end. The mix is diverse (but again, honest, not just diverse for the sake of diversity), and I was able to get from one feel or mood to another in almost no time, which created room to patch together more of them, and I never let the "concept" get in the way. It has a sense of humor that compliments its internal logic, is paranoidally acerbic, and it isn't too serious OR too cute, which are areas where I usually err. It sounds like something I'd make, which is also something I'm not at very good at doing (a lot of people share this malady with me--very few people are good at makinkg things that resemble themselves--it's as rare as people who always come out looking good in photographs). It's a very good mix CD--I couldn't make a better one at this point in my life--and the Roommate and I listened to it this Sunday morning instead of watching a movie. (If you want a copy, let me know.)

Right now I'm waching football and cleaning my room. I'm doing laundry, too, and I had a good conversation with my mother. I'm working tomorrow (MLK day), but I don't mind because I need to be there tomorrow, but I'm not there now.


Listening to: The new mix
Reading: Moody
Background: Vikings v. Philladelphia
Random

The body on the railing - 2005-06-26
I'll put a pebble in my shoe - 2005-04-20
I wanna be a geographist! - 2005-04-13
Shop - 2005-04-05
I can't dance but I will - 2005-03-22
The WeatherPixie